Alocity Review: Features, Pricing, Pros & Cons

Profile image for Meredith Murray
Meredith Murray
Updated 15 min read
Used by more than 1 million, including the most trusted names in real estate
related-logo-png lincon-property-logo-png lennar-logo-png CA-ventures-logo bozzuto-logo-png

Key takeaways:

  • Alocity serves two entrance needs: the 8-inch AI-1000 has a visitor directory for primary entrances, while the screen-free F3D100 adds face verification, Zigbee, and wired controller protocols for restricted doors.
  • Alocity does not publish hardware, subscription, or installation prices, and each deployment needs professional installation, door wiring, cloud provisioning, and 10–25 Mbps of recommended bandwidth per device.
  • Mercury controller support, added in September 2026, may help compatible retrofits, but public customer feedback remains limited despite Alocity’s industry awards and Series A funding.

 

Disclaimer: ButterflyMX provides these blog posts to help our customers and potential customers make the right business decisions. Our blog posts are based on the information available to us at the time of writing.

 

Alocity combines video intercoms, access readers, entrance cameras, and cloud management in two products: the AI-1000 and F3D100. Property managers, security integrators, and operations teams may consider the platform for multifamily, commercial, gated, student housing, healthcare, and other multi-tenant properties.

This Alocity review explains which reader fits each entrance, how access works, and what installation and network planning involve. It also covers quote-based pricing, Mercury controller compatibility, customer feedback, alternatives, and ButterflyMX.

This guide will answer:

 

Watch how ButterflyMX works:

 

What is Alocity?

Alocity is a cloud-managed physical-security platform that combines video intercom, credentialed access, visitor management, and entrance video. Its intercom reader family includes the visitor-facing AI-1000 and the compact F3D100 for secondary or restricted entrances.

Founded in 2020 and based in Miramar, Florida, Alocity brings visitor calls, credentials, door actions, and video events into its Control Center software and Aimee AI operator.

 

Who is Alocity designed for?

Alocity is designed for property managers, security integrators, and facility or operations teams managing one or more locations. It is marketed for multifamily communities, offices, gated communities, student housing, senior living, healthcare, education, and warehousing or logistics properties.

At the entrance, visitors can call a host, authorized users can present a credential, staff can review related access and video events, and administrators can manage devices remotely. The key hardware choice is whether a door needs a public directory or a compact credential reader.

 

How does the Aimee platform work?

Aimee lets staff search and automate access, visitor, and video events using natural-language requests. Control Center handles device configuration, credentials, remote management, and over-the-air updates.

Buyers should evaluate the readers, cloud platform, and network requirements as one deployment rather than as separate purchases.

 

Alocity AI-1000 vs. F3D100

The Alocity AI-1000 suits primary entrances where visitors need to search a directory and call a resident or employee. The Alocity F3D100 is a screen-free reader for secondary, amenity, or restricted doors, where credentials, face verification, sensors, and controller connections matter more than a directory.

Swipe to compare →

Category AI-1000 F3D100 Best fit
Visitor interface 8-inch touchscreen with directory search and video calling No directory touchscreen AI-1000 for public entrances; F3D100 where users have credentials or a defined calling process
Size Published screen size: 8 inches 6.80 × 2.70 × 1.50 inches F3D100 where a compact reader is preferred
Camera and video Dual-lens 1080p HD camera and continuous entrance video Video intercom and continuous entrance video Both support video-linked entrance workflows
Credentials Mobile, wallet, card or fob, PIN, and QR options 3D face verification with liveness and other supported credentials Match credentials to each door’s users
Network and power Ethernet or Wi-Fi; wired installation PoE or 12VDC at 10W AI-1000 offers more network flexibility; F3D100 fits wired reader deployments
Protocols and sensors Designed for the Alocity intercom and access environment OSDP, Wiegand, RS-485, and an embedded Zigbee module F3D100 for controller and wireless-sensor connections
Environmental rating IP65 and IK08 IP67; operates from -20°C to 50°C Assess weather exposure and mounting location
Placement Recommended mounting height: 54 inches Compact wall-mounted reader Plan for accessibility, cabling, visitor use, and exposure

Alocity documents the AI-1000 touchscreen, camera, credentials, and connectivity separately from the F3D100’s dimensions, power, face verification, Zigbee, and wired protocols. The models are not interchangeable.

Power over Ethernet, or PoE, sends power and network data over one Ethernet cable. OSDP, Wiegand, and RS-485 are wired communication methods used by readers and access equipment. Zigbee is a short-range wireless protocol for devices such as door contacts, motion sensors, buttons, and chimes. IP ratings describe resistance to dust and water, while IK ratings describe impact resistance.

 

Choose AI-1000 for visitor-facing primary entrances

The AI-1000 is the better choice when an unknown visitor needs to find a resident, tenant, employee, front desk, or security team. Its touchscreen directory supports that first step, and video calling lets a host see and speak with the visitor before granting access.

The AI-1000 also supports PIN and QR entry alongside mobile and physical credentials. Alocity recommends mounting it 54 inches above the floor, so properties should plan for sightlines, accessibility, wall or gang-box placement, and nearby lock wiring.

 

Choose F3D100 for secondary or restricted doors

The F3D100 removes the directory screen and focuses on credentialed entry. Its 3D face verification includes liveness detection, and its embedded Zigbee module can connect wireless sensors and buttons.

That combination may fit employee entrances, amenity doors, and restricted areas where users already know how to enter. It is less suitable than the AI-1000 for an entrance where walk-up visitors need an on-device directory.

 

Alocity features and access methods

Alocity combines video intercom, multi-credential access, continuous entrance recording, cloud management, and linked event history. Both readers connect entrance activity to Alocity software, while directory search, face verification, sensor connections, and wired protocols vary by model.

Supported access methods include mobile credentials, Apple and Google Wallet credentials, encrypted cards or fobs, PINs, QR virtual keys, and 3D face verification where available. ButterflyMX supports comparable categories, including video intercom, mobile and wallet access, visitor access, and security cameras; buyers should compare the workflow and hardware needed at each entrance.

 

Visitor, mobile, and delivery access

At an AI-1000 entrance, a visitor can search the directory and place a video call. Hosts can answer and unlock remotely through the Alocity 1iD app, while properties can use pre-registration, PINs, QR virtual keys, and time-limited delivery access.

The Alocity intercom documentation describes remote answer and unlock, mobile enrollment, and supported credential choices. These options let properties use different entry methods for residents, employees, visitors, vendors, and delivery workers.

 

Video, event history, and remote management

Alocity readers record entrance video continuously, not only during an active call. The platform links caller video, the credential used, door actions, and related camera activity in one event timeline.

That gives staff more context when they review an entry event. Control Center also supports remote configuration, credential management, device monitoring, and updates across locations.

 

How much does Alocity cost?

Alocity does not publish hardware, software subscription, or installation prices. Buyers need a custom quote from Alocity or an integrator, and the available public pricing profile does not provide enough detail to price either reader or a complete deployment.

A third-party seller lists a stainless housing for the AI-1000 at about $486.84. That is an accessory price, not the cost of the AI-1000, software, or installation.

Quote-only pricing makes total cost especially important. A retrofit that reuses compatible controllers may have a different scope than one that requires new wiring, controllers, sensors, mounting hardware, and network work.

 

What to include in an Alocity quote

Ask for an itemized quote covering:

  • The number of AI-1000 and F3D100 readers needed at each entrance.
  • Hardware, licenses, cloud software, and recurring fees.
  • Professional installation, wall preparation, cabling, and lock or relay work.
  • Controller, I/O, and integration work for existing access equipment.
  • Mounting plates, housings, pedestals, and other accessories.
  • Optional F3D100 Zigbee sensors, buttons, contacts, or chimes.
  • Support, maintenance, replacements, and update costs.

Large properties should also ask about directory, credential, door, and multi-site limits because numerical capacity figures are not publicly stated in the available product information.

 

Installation, network requirements, and integrations

Alocity is a professionally installed, cloud-managed system. Deployment can require wall mounting, door and relay wiring, network setup, device provisioning, and coordination between the property, installer, access-control specialist, and IT team.

Requirement Published detail Why it matters
Professional installation Alocity guidance calls for a professional technician The work involves more than placing a standalone consumer intercom
Door connections Wiring may include locks or relays, door contacts, request-to-exit devices, and optional I/O equipment Existing door hardware affects installation scope
Provisioning Readers must connect to an active Control Center account Hardware and cloud setup must be coordinated
AI-1000 network Ethernet with DHCP is recommended; Wi-Fi is supported Properties can weigh wired reliability against retrofit flexibility
F3D100 power PoE or 12VDC at 10W Plan power and cabling at every door
Bandwidth 10–25 Mbps upload and download per device is recommended Several readers can create a meaningful network requirement
Firewall services TCP 443 and 8883, NTP 123, and RTSP 554 IT teams may need to approve and configure access before deployment

The AI-1000 quick-start guide calls for professional installation. The installation instructions cover mounting and door-system connections, and Alocity publishes its 10–25 Mbps recommendation and required network services.

These are planning inputs, not a prediction of performance at a specific property. Before purchasing, review the device count, available bandwidth, firewall policy, cabling, and backup connectivity with the installer and IT team.

 

Connectivity and power by model

The AI-1000 supports Ethernet or Wi-Fi, which may provide more placement flexibility in a retrofit. Ethernet with DHCP is recommended, and the intercom still needs power and physical connections to the door system.

The F3D100 is designed for wired installations. It can use PoE or 12VDC power, while its OSDP, Wiegand, and RS-485 interfaces communicate with access-control equipment. The right design depends on the installed panel and door hardware.

 

What Mercury controller support means for a retrofit

Alocity added support for Mercury Security open controllers in September 2026. Mercury controllers are access-control boards that connect door hardware and readers to management software. The Alocity Mercury announcement describes the integration as a way to add its AI and cloud layer without automatically replacing existing Mercury controllers.

For a Mercury-based property, that may reduce controller replacement during a retrofit. It does not mean Alocity works with every legacy panel, reader, credential, or wiring layout, so non-Mercury systems need a case-specific assessment.

ButterflyMX also supports access control as part of its property access platform. For either platform, retrofit buyers should separate the desired software workflow from the practical question of how existing controllers, locks, readers, and wiring will connect.

 

Alocity review: pros and cons

Alocity offers a broad entrance-security feature set. The best fit depends on the model selected, infrastructure readiness, compatibility, and the detail included in the quote.

 

Alocity pros

  • Consolidated entrance hardware: The reader family combines video intercom, credential reading, and continuous entrance video, which can reduce the number of separate devices needed for those functions.
  • Flexible credentials: Face, mobile, wallet, card or fob, PIN, and QR options can serve different user groups and entry scenarios, though availability varies by model.
  • AI-assisted operations: Aimee offers natural-language search and automation across access, visitor, and video events, which may simplify routine event review.
  • Improving retrofit flexibility: Mercury controller support gives compatible properties an alternative to replacing the full controller layer.
  • Independent industry recognition: The Security Industry Association named Alocity the 2023 Best New Product and Best Access Control Solution.

 

Alocity cons

  • No public system pricing: Buyers cannot compare hardware, software, and installation budgets without a detailed quote.
  • Professional installation: Wall mounting, door wiring, cloud provisioning, and possible controller work add more scope than a plug-in intercom.
  • Cloud and network requirements: Each device has a published bandwidth recommendation and needs specific network services, so constrained properties may need infrastructure work.
  • No directory screen on F3D100: Entrances that need walk-up directory search should use AI-1000 or another visitor-routing plan.
  • Limited public field history: Few public customer reviews and long-term case studies are available to show typical outcomes across property types.

 

What do Alocity customers say?

Public Alocity customer feedback is sparse, so the available review is useful but not representative of every deployment. One property-management COO responsible for more than 1,000 units gave Alocity a 4.0 out of 5 rating, praising easy onboarding and feature breadth while asking for more customization.

A 2023 integrator overview called the platform feature-rich but noted the shortage of public reviews and case studies. A 2025 buyer discussion also shows how hard it has been for prospective customers to find independent deployment experience.

Alocity also has company-maturity signals. It received SIA awards in 2023 and announced a Series A funding round around July 2026, with the amount undisclosed. Awards and funding show recognition and investment, but they do not replace property-specific references or long-term operating data.

Before buying, request references that match your property type, door count, entrance mix, controller environment, and intended credentials. Ask about installation, administration, visitor adoption, support, and day-to-day event review.

 

Alocity alternatives

Alocity alternatives include access-control, connected-property, and smart-building platforms. An independent marketplace listing identifies these options alongside Alocity:

  • ZeroKey: An access platform for smart-building and access-control comparisons.
  • Cohesion: A smart-building platform for buyers evaluating broader building operations.
  • Geokey: Another access-control platform for a wider shortlist.
  • Alarm.com: A connected-property security platform.
  • Kastle Systems: An established access-control and visitor-management option.

ButterflyMX is another alternative when platform breadth is a major factor. ButterflyMX brings video intercoms, access control, mobile and visitor access, vehicle access, elevator controls, security cameras, package rooms, smart lock integrations, and wallet credentials into one property access and security platform.

Don’t compare options by feature count alone. Start with your required workflows, then compare entrance hardware, resident and visitor experience, controller compatibility, network requirements, installation responsibility, pricing, support, and references.

 

Alocity vs. ButterflyMX

Alocity and ButterflyMX both address video intercom, access control, mobile credentials, and visitor entry. Alocity centers on two combined intercom readers and its Aimee and Control Center software, while ButterflyMX offers a broader collection of property access and security products that can work together.

Swipe to compare →

Feature Alocity ButterflyMX Why it matters
Video intercom AI-1000 and F3D100 provide video calling and continuous entrance recording; AI-1000 adds an 8-inch directory touchscreen. ButterflyMX video intercoms let residents see and speak with visitors in the mobile app before granting access remotely; security cameras are also available. Compare the entrance interface, resident call workflow, and broader video-security needs.
Mobile and wallet access Alocity supports mobile and Apple or Google Wallet credentials, plus remote answer and unlock through the 1iD app. ButterflyMX supports smartphone access through its app and wallet-based credentials on compatible devices. Credential choice affects enrollment, convenience, and reliance on cards or fobs.
Visitor access AI-1000 visitors can search a directory and place a call; Alocity also supports pre-registration and PIN or QR virtual keys. Residents can receive visitor calls, communicate with guests, grant access remotely, and issue temporary visitor access. The right workflow depends on lobby staffing, property type, guest volume, and temporary-access needs.
Access control Alocity combines reader hardware with cloud management; F3D100 supports OSDP, Wiegand, and RS-485, and Mercury support was added in September 2026. ButterflyMX lets property teams manage access permissions for doors and other controlled entry points within its broader platform. Retrofit buyers need the desired management functions and a clear plan for controllers, locks, readers, and wiring.
Vehicle and gate access Alocity markets its platform for gated-community and vehicle-access use cases. ButterflyMX offers vehicle access control for gates and garages as part of the same platform used for pedestrian and building access. Gated communities may want vehicle and building entry evaluated together.
Broader property ecosystem Alocity spans intercom readers, access control, visitor management, and AI video. ButterflyMX supports video intercoms, access control, visitor and vehicle access, elevator controls, security cameras, package rooms, smart lock integrations, and wallet credentials. Properties can choose a reader-centered deployment or a platform that covers additional access and package workflows.

Neither product should be selected from this table alone. Map each entrance and workflow, obtain complete quotes, review compatibility, and compare references from similar properties.

 

Frequently asked questions

 

How much does Alocity cost?

Alocity hardware, subscription, and installation prices are quote-based and not publicly listed. A third-party AI-1000 housing is listed at about $486.84, but that is an accessory price rather than the intercom price.

 

What is the difference between Alocity AI-1000 and F3D100?

The AI-1000 is an 8-inch touchscreen intercom with directory search for visitor-facing entrances. The F3D100 is a compact, screen-free reader for secondary or restricted doors, with 3D face verification, Zigbee, PoE or 12VDC power, and OSDP, Wiegand, and RS-485 support.

 

Does Alocity require internet or Wi-Fi?

Alocity requires internet because the platform is cloud-managed, but Wi-Fi is not the only option. The AI-1000 supports Ethernet or Wi-Fi, while the F3D100 is designed for wired deployment and can use PoE.

 

Does Alocity require professional installation?

Yes. Alocity guidance calls for professional installation, which can include wall mounting, wiring to locks or controllers, network configuration, and Control Center provisioning.

 

Can Alocity work with an existing access-control system?

Alocity can work with some existing infrastructure, including Mercury open controllers as of September 2026. The F3D100 also supports OSDP, Wiegand, and RS-485, but buyers should assess each legacy system individually.

 

What access credentials does Alocity support?

Alocity supports mobile and wallet credentials, encrypted cards or fobs, PINs, QR virtual keys, and 3D face verification. Availability varies by reader, with face verification specific to the F3D100 in the reviewed product information.

 

Does Alocity have a mobile app?

Yes. The Alocity 1iD app lets residents, employees, and tenants answer supported video calls and unlock doors remotely, and it supports mobile credential workflows.

 

Is Alocity an established company?

Alocity was founded in 2020, won two SIA awards in 2023, and announced a Series A round around July 2026. Those are positive maturity signals, but the public customer-review and case-study pool remains small.

 

What should large properties ask Alocity before buying?

Large properties should ask about directory, credential, door, and multi-site limits because numerical capacities are not publicly stated. They should also request itemized pricing, network planning, controller compatibility, support details, and references from comparable properties.

 

Is Alocity right for your property?

Alocity may fit properties that want combined intercom, access-reader, and entrance-video hardware with flexible credentials and cloud management. The AI-1000 is the clearer choice for visitor-facing entrances, while the F3D100 fits compact, credential-focused doors and wired controller deployments.

The main tradeoffs are pricing transparency, professional installation, network demands, and limited public customer evidence. Before adding Alocity to your shortlist, get a complete quote, map every entrance to the right model, assess bandwidth and firewall readiness, confirm controller compatibility, and request references from similar properties.

Compare ButterflyMX if you want video intercom, access control, visitor and vehicle access, security cameras, elevator controls, package rooms, smart lock integrations, and mobile or wallet credentials in a broader property platform.

Schedule a ButterflyMX demo to explore which access and security products fit your property.

ButterflyMX deliveries

Get your free quote!

Fill in the form below, and we'll email you right back.

Want a free quote?

Fill in the form below, and we'll email you right back.

You’ll be redirected shortly...

Meredith Murray covers the systems and strategies shaping today’s multifamily and commercial properties. Meredith’s articles provide practical insights for real estate professionals seeking to improve security, streamline day-to-day operations, and create more seamless experiences for residents, staff, and guests.