Eufy Smart Lock Review: Models, Pricing, Pros & Cons

Profile image for Bryson Hile
Bryson Hile
Updated 19 min read
Used by more than 1 million, including the most trusted names in real estate
related-logo-png lincon-property-logo-png lennar-logo-png CA-ventures-logo bozzuto-logo-png

Key takeaways:

  • Eufy smart locks range from the roughly $80 C30 keypad lock to the $399.99 FamiLock S3 Max, which adds palm-vein access, a 2K HDR camera, Grade 1 hardware, and lock-only Apple Home support.
  • Core locking and local video don’t require a subscription, but camera owners may pay about $3 to $10 per month for optional cloud backup and may want storage or hub accessories.
  • Eufy is built for individual residential doors; properties that need coordinated resident, visitor, vehicle, elevator, and package access need a broader platform.

 

Disclaimer: ButterflyMX provides these blog posts to help our customers and potential customers make the right business decisions. Our blog posts are based on the information available to us at the time of writing.

 

This eufy smart lock review helps homeowners, authorized renters, and condo residents choose among the brand’s current C, E, S, and FamiLock models. The range starts with a basic WiFi keypad deadbolt and extends to locks that combine a camera, doorbell, fingerprint reader, or palm-vein sensor.

The model names are similar, but the buying tradeoffs are not. This guide compares pricing, access methods, battery systems, security grades, WiFi setup, Apple compatibility, privacy considerations, and the difference between a household lock, a fingerprint lock, and property-wide access control.

This guide will answer:

 

Watch how ButterflyMX works:

 

What are eufy smart locks?

Eufy smart locks are consumer deadbolt replacements for individual residential entrances. Depending on the model, they add keypad, app, biometric, and video-doorbell access to a compatible door. The eufy smart lock collection includes budget lock-only options and premium models that combine several front-door functions.

These locks are mainly for single-family homes and authorized retrofits on individual condo or apartment doors. They aren’t designed to manage access across an apartment building or commercial property.

Access methods vary by model and can include a PIN, the eufy Security app, fingerprint recognition, palm-vein recognition, Alexa or Google Assistant, and a physical backup key. Don’t assume every model includes every method.

 

How do eufy smart locks work?

Eufy smart locks replace a compatible deadbolt and run on batteries, so a standard installation doesn’t need new door wiring. Keypads, biometric readers, and physical keys work at the door. Remote app control, notifications, and voice-assistant features need internet access over 2.4GHz WiFi.

Camera models add a doorbell, live video, two-way audio, and motion notifications. A resident can see and speak with a visitor, unlock the door remotely, or issue a temporary PIN. That’s useful for one household door, but it isn’t the same as managing visitors or deliveries across an entire property.

 

Which eufy smart lock model should you buy?

The best eufy smart lock depends on your budget, preferred biometric method, need for video, and smart-home setup. Choose the S3 Max for the broadest premium feature set, the S3 for similar palm-vein basics without the rear screen, the S330 or E330 for fingerprint-based video entry, or the C-series for lower-cost lock-only use.

Model Typical price or MSRP Access methods Camera and doorbell Connectivity Battery BHMA grade Matter and Apple Home Best for
Video Smart Lock S330 $349.99 MSRP Fingerprint, PIN, app, voice, key 2K camera and video doorbell 2.4GHz WiFi through included Chime bridge 10,000mAh rechargeable battery; about 3 months Grade 3 No All-in-one fingerprint, camera, and doorbell use
FamiLock S3 Max $399.99 MSRP; discounts vary Palm vein, PIN, app, voice, key 2K HDR camera, doorbell, and 4-inch interior screen Direct WiFi 15,000mAh rechargeable battery plus 4 AAA backup batteries; about 5 months Grade 1 Yes, for lock functions only Premium biometric entry and Apple or Matter households
FamiLock S3 Not stated in the available materials Palm vein, PIN, app, voice, key 2K HDR camera and doorbell; no 4-inch rear screen Direct WiFi 15,000mAh rechargeable battery plus 4 AAA backup batteries; about 5 months Grade 1 Yes, for lock functions only Palm-vein access without the S3 Max rear display
Video Smart Lock E330 Not stated in the available materials Fingerprint, PIN, app, voice, key 2K camera and doorbell Direct WiFi 10,000mAh rechargeable battery; about 3 months Grade 3 No stated support Video and fingerprint entry without the S330 bridge
Smart Lock C220 Typically under $110 Six advertised unlock methods, including fingerprint No camera or doorbell Direct WiFi AA batteries; several months per set Not stated in the available materials No stated support Lower-cost biometric entry without video
Smart Lock C30 About $80 PIN, app, voice, key No camera or doorbell Direct WiFi 4 AA batteries; about 5 months Grade 3 No stated support Low-cost WiFi keypad access

The S330 product page lists a 2K camera, up to 50 fingerprints, up to 100 PIN users, a 10,000mAh battery, and Grade 3 certification. Its key setup difference is the bundled Chime: it must stay plugged in because it serves as the WiFi bridge.

The FamiLock S3 Max adds palm-vein entry, a 2K HDR camera, a 4-inch interior display, Grade 1 certification, and dual power. The S3 keeps the palm-vein, camera, dual-power, and Matter features but leaves out the interior screen.

At the budget end, Popular Mechanics tested the C30 at about $80. It has no camera or biometrics, but its support for up to 100 codes matches the S330’s listed code capacity. That makes it a practical value choice if a keypad is all you need.

 

Best eufy model by buyer type

  • For the fullest premium package: Choose the S3 Max for palm-vein access, a 2K HDR camera, a rear video screen, Grade 1 hardware, and lock control through Matter and Apple Home.
  • For palm-vein access without a rear screen: Consider the S3. It keeps the S3 Max’s core biometric and smart-home features.
  • For fingerprint-based video entry: Compare the S330 and E330. E330 has direct WiFi, while S330 needs its included Chime bridge.
  • For lower-cost biometric access: Consider the C220 if you want fingerprint entry but don’t need a camera.
  • For basic WiFi keypad access: The C30 is the clearest budget option at about $80.
  • For an Apple-centered home: Limit your shortlist to the S3 and S3 Max. Apple Home support covers lock functions, not camera streaming.

 

Eufy smart lock features and everyday performance

Eufy’s biggest strengths are its range of household access methods and its all-in-one video lock options. Still, features and day-to-day performance vary by model, so compare the exact lock rather than the brand name alone.

 

Fingerprint and palm-vein entry

The S330 supports up to 50 fingerprints and lists 0.3-second recognition, a 98% pass rate, and a one-in-10-million error ratio. Those are eufy specifications, not a promise that every attempt will work in every condition.

In hands-on use, PCWorld reported difficulty engaging the S330 fingerprint reader on some attempts, while still praising its camera. A separate four-month review of the older S230 also reported fingerprint retries and occasional connectivity problems. The older S230 experience doesn’t prove how current models will perform, but it is useful context for buyers who want highly consistent biometric entry.

The S3 and S3 Max use palm-vein recognition. Eufy lists 0.6-second unlocking and up to 50 palm profiles for the S3 Max. Palm-vein access may appeal to families who want an alternative to fingerprint entry, though long-term third-party experience with these newer models is limited.

For one household, PINs, biometrics, app access, and a physical key create several ways to get in. Properties that need to coordinate credentials across many entrances may need a platform such as ButterflyMX, which supports mobile access, wallet-based credentials, access control, and smart lock integrations across a broader property system.

 

Video, visitor access, and local storage

Camera-equipped eufy locks combine front-door video, a doorbell, two-way audio, and remote unlocking for one residence. The S330 and E330 use 2K cameras, while the S3 and S3 Max use 2K HDR cameras.

A visitor presses the doorbell, and the resident can use the eufy Security app to see and speak with that person before unlocking the door. Residents can also create temporary or scheduled PINs for guests and service providers.

Local video storage lets buyers use core video functions without a required monthly fee. A microSD card or HomeBase may be needed for added local storage, while optional cloud backup is available for buyers who want off-device footage storage.

This is a household doorbell workflow, not property-wide visitor and delivery management. ButterflyMX supports video intercoms, visitor access, security cameras, and package rooms as parts of a wider property access platform.

 

Smart-home integrations and Apple Home limitations

Most current eufy smart locks work with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant, but Apple and Matter support is much narrower. Only the S3 and S3 Max support Matter and Apple Home, and that support is limited to lock functions rather than the built-in camera stream.

In practice, Apple Home users can control supported lock functions but shouldn’t expect eufy camera and doorbell video to appear through Matter. The S3 and S3 Max are the better eufy options for Apple-focused homes, but neither offers full camera integration through Matter. The reviewed models don’t support IFTTT.

 

Security grades and privacy considerations

Security certification differs across the eufy lineup. S3 and S3 Max are listed as BHMA Grade 1, while S330, E330, and C30 are listed as Grade 3. BHMA grades are standardized durability and security classifications, so the grade of the exact model matters.

A grade doesn’t predict how a lock will handle every possible physical attack. For the highlighted S330 and FamiLock models, the certifications are the clearest supported point of comparison.

Camera-lock buyers should also consider digital privacy. In 2022, The Verge reported that some eufy camera footage and thumbnails described as local-only could be reached through a web portal. That reporting involved eufy cameras and shouldn’t be treated as evidence that current smart-lock cameras work the same way.

Eufy later described fixes and says in its current privacy commitment that biometric data and default video are stored and encrypted locally. Buyers can weigh that commitment alongside the earlier incident and decide whether local storage, optional cloud use, and account security meet their needs.

 

How much do eufy smart locks cost?

Eufy smart locks span about $80 to $399.99 across the highlighted models. The C30 costs about $80, the S330 lists at $349.99 MSRP, and the S3 Max lists at $399.99 MSRP, though promotions can change the selling price.

Core locking and local video don’t require a subscription. However, published cloud backup pricing is about $3 per month or $30 per year for one camera device, and about $10 per month or $100 per year for up to 10 devices.

Cost category When it applies Published cost Required or optional Buyer consideration
Smart Lock C30 Budget keypad and WiFi entry About $80 Required hardware purchase No camera or biometrics, but it supports up to 100 codes.
Video Smart Lock S330 Fingerprint, camera, doorbell, and deadbolt $349.99 MSRP Required hardware purchase The included Chime is required as its WiFi bridge.
FamiLock S3 Max Palm vein, 2K HDR camera, and rear display $399.99 MSRP Required hardware purchase Discounts vary, so compare the current selling price with MSRP.
Local lock and video use Core use without off-device cloud backup No monthly fee Included Local video storage hardware may still be needed.
Single-device cloud backup One camera-equipped device About $3 per month or $30 per year Optional Adds off-device backup to local operation.
Multi-device cloud backup Up to 10 camera devices About $10 per month or $100 per year Optional May matter for homes with several eufy camera products.
microSD card Expanded local video storage Not stated Optional Include it when comparing camera ownership costs.
HomeBase 3 Expanded storage or supported hub functions Not stated Optional Don’t assume it is included with every lock.
Spare rechargeable battery Reducing downtime during charging About $50 in an independent review Optional Useful if you don’t want to wait for a battery recharge.

The headline price may not be the final cost. Before choosing a camera model, decide whether you want local storage, cloud backup, a HomeBase, a microSD card, or a spare battery.

 

Eufy smart lock installation, connectivity, and battery life

Eufy smart locks usually install as a 15-to-30-minute DIY deadbolt replacement on a compatible door. You’ll still need to check door dimensions, WiFi coverage, charging needs, and any model-specific bridge requirements before buying.

Compatible doors generally need to be 35 to 55mm thick and use standard cross-bore and backset dimensions. A nonstandard or older door may need extra preparation, even if a typical installation doesn’t require drilling.

Rechargeable models need an initial six-hour charge before installation. The S330 also needs a nearby outlet for its included Chime, which is its required WiFi bridge; E330, S3, S3 Max, C220, and C30 use direct WiFi.

Estimated battery life is about three months for S330 and E330 and about five months for S3 and S3 Max. The C30 and other AA-powered budget models generally run several months per set. Traffic, camera activity, network conditions, and usage can affect actual battery life.

 

Before you buy: door and network checklist

  • Measure the door: Confirm a thickness of 35 to 55mm and compatible bore and backset dimensions.
  • Check bolt movement: The deadbolt should extend smoothly without pushing against a misaligned frame.
  • Prepare 2.4GHz WiFi: Remote access, notifications, and smart-home functions depend on it.
  • Plan for the S330 bridge: Reserve an outlet for the included Chime if you choose this model.
  • Charge before installation: Allow about six hours for rechargeable models.
  • Check the camera view: The S3 Max isn’t recommended when a storm door blocks its camera.
  • Choose storage: Decide whether local storage, optional cloud backup, or HomeBase use fits your needs.
  • Keep the physical key available: It provides a fallback when power or app access fails.

 

Eufy smart lock pros and cons

Eufy gives buyers a broad choice of models, access methods, subscription-free core use, and DIY installation. The tradeoffs are limited Apple support, model-specific setup needs, possible biometric or connectivity friction, added camera costs, and a one-household-door focus.

Pros Why they matter Cons Why they matter
No mandatory fee for core locking or local video Essential functions can work without a recurring service charge. Cloud backup and accessories can add costs Total ownership cost may include a microSD card, hub, spare battery, or a $3-to-$10 monthly cloud plan.
Keypad, fingerprint, palm vein, app, voice, and key options across the range Buyers can choose credentials that fit different family members and fallback needs. Apple and Matter support is limited Only S3 and S3 Max support lock functions through Matter and Apple Home; the camera stream is excluded.
Palm-vein access on S3 and S3 Max It offers an alternative to fingerprint entry and supports up to 50 profiles on S3 Max. Some reviewers encountered fingerprint friction Some hands-on attempts needed repositioning or retries despite strong manufacturer specifications.
DIY installation in about 15 to 30 minutes Compatible residential doors usually need no professional work or new wiring. S330 requires its Chime bridge It needs an outlet and another always-on component, unlike direct-WiFi models.
Budget and premium choices You can avoid paying for video or biometrics you don’t need. Camera privacy history requires consideration Buyers may want to weigh the 2022 reporting against eufy’s current privacy commitment.
Physical key backup Residents retain a way inside when a battery or connected feature is unavailable. Not designed for centralized property access A household deadbolt doesn’t replace multi-door, multi-tenant, vehicle, elevator, or package access management.

 

What reviewers and customers report

Feedback is positive about installation ease, camera quality, and biometric convenience, though experiences differ by product and source. Manufacturer-hosted buyer reviews tend to be highly favorable, including reports of long-term S330 reliability and stable battery performance.

Independent testing is more mixed. PCWorld praised S330 camera quality but reported fingerprint-reader difficulty and inconsistent doorbell illumination. Testing of the older S230 reported occasional offline status, repeated fingerprint attempts, and false deadbolt warnings. These observations offer useful context, not a guarantee of how a current model will perform in every home.

 

Who are eufy smart locks best for?

Eufy smart locks are best for households that want a DIY lock for one residential door, especially buyers who value keypad or biometric entry and use Alexa or Google Assistant. The lineup also suits buyers who want local video without a required cloud subscription.

Eufy may fit homeowners replacing a standard front-door deadbolt, authorized renters or condo residents, families that want fingerprint or palm-vein entry, budget shoppers who only need keypad and app access, and camera buyers who want a lock, video doorbell, and two-way audio in one device. Apple Home users can consider an S3 model if lock-only integration meets their needs.

Eufy is less suitable when access needs extend beyond one home entrance. Its devices use household-scale profiles, temporary codes, and per-device app management rather than centralized control for buildings, common-area doors, vehicles, elevators, and package areas.

Property teams with those wider needs may compare eufy with ButterflyMX. ButterflyMX combines access control, mobile and visitor access, video intercoms, vehicle access, elevator controls, security cameras, package rooms, and smart lock integrations as parts of a broader property platform.

 

Eufy smart lock alternatives

The best eufy alternative depends on the feature you value most, such as Apple Home Key, a less visible design, an established lock brand, or budget fingerprint access.

  • Schlage Encode Plus or Sense Pro: Consider Schlage if stronger Apple Home Key alignment and an established lock brand matter more than eufy’s palm-vein option.
  • Yale Assure Lock 2 Plus: Yale is another Apple Home Key-oriented option with a modular product approach.
  • Level Lock+: Level may appeal to buyers who want a minimalist design with Apple Home and Home Key support instead of visible biometric hardware.
  • Wyze Lock Bolt v2: Wyze is a budget comparison for C30 shoppers who want fingerprint access at a lower price tier.
  • Kwikset Halo Touch: Kwikset offers an established-brand alternative with WiFi and fingerprint entry similar to eufy’s mid-tier models.

Compare exact model support before choosing. Apple integration, WiFi requirements, biometric methods, camera functions, and recurring costs can vary between brands and within the same brand.

 

Eufy vs. ButterflyMX

Eufy and ButterflyMX solve access needs at different scales. Eufy focuses on consumer smart deadbolts for individual residential doors, while ButterflyMX is a property access and security platform for multifamily, commercial, gated communities, student housing, and other properties.

Feature Eufy ButterflyMX Why it matters
Primary use and scale Replaces one residential deadbolt and manages household-scale users through a per-device app. Brings multiple access and security products into one platform for properties with several users, entrances, or workflows. First decide whether you need one smart lock or coordinated access across a property.
Video and visitor workflow Selected locks combine a 2K or 2K HDR camera, doorbell, two-way audio, temporary PINs, and remote unlocking at one door. Residents can receive video intercom calls in the mobile app, see and speak with visitors, and grant remote or temporary visitor access at supported property entrances. A household doorbell and a property visitor system serve different operational needs.
Credentials and mobile access Credentials vary by model and may include PIN, fingerprint, palm vein, app, voice assistant, and physical key. Supports mobile access and wallet-based credentials for compatible devices, along with access control and smart lock integrations. Households may favor biometrics at one door, while properties may need credentials that work across a wider system.
Property entry points Designed for an individual residential door and doesn’t provide centralized vehicle, elevator, or package-room access. Supports doors, vehicle gates and garages, elevator controls, package rooms, video intercoms, and smart lock integrations within the broader platform. Properties with several types of controlled entry need coverage beyond a front-door deadbolt.
Management scope Provides per-device app control, notifications, temporary codes, and basic time-stamped event history. Property teams can manage permissions through an access platform spanning mobile, visitor, vehicle, elevator, camera, package-room, and smart-lock capabilities. Centralized management matters more as the number of users, doors, and access workflows grows.

Eufy is the more direct fit for a homeowner choosing a smart deadbolt. ButterflyMX is the better fit when a property team needs to connect visitor entry, resident access, common areas, vehicles, elevators, cameras, package areas, and supported smart locks.

 

Frequently asked questions about eufy smart locks

Which eufy smart lock is best?

The best eufy smart lock depends on your priorities. Choose S3 Max for palm-vein access, a rear display, Grade 1 hardware, and lock-only Apple Home support; S330 for fingerprint-based video entry; or C30 and C220 for lower-cost lock-only use.

 

Do eufy smart locks require a monthly fee?

No monthly fee is required for core locking or local video use. Optional cloud backup for camera-equipped devices costs about $3 per month for one device or $10 per month for up to 10 devices.

 

Do eufy smart locks work with Apple HomeKit?

Only FamiLock S3 and S3 Max support Apple Home through Matter. Support is limited to lock functions, so the camera and doorbell stream doesn’t appear through Matter.

 

How long do eufy smart lock batteries last?

Battery estimates are about three months for S330 and E330 and five months for S3 and S3 Max. AA-powered budget models generally run several months per set, though usage and network conditions affect actual battery life.

 

Are eufy smart locks easy to install?

Yes. Most compatible deadbolt replacements take about 15 to 30 minutes without drilling. Rechargeable models need an initial six-hour charge, and buyers should confirm a door thickness of 35 to 55mm.

 

How reliable is the eufy fingerprint reader?

Eufy claims 0.3-second recognition and a 98% pass rate for S330, but independent reviewers reported that some attempts needed repositioning or retries. Performance can vary with finger placement, setup, and conditions.

 

What happens if a eufy smart lock battery dies?

Reviewed eufy models retain a physical key for backup entry. Selected products also offer an emergency external power option, so keep the key accessible and check the instructions for your model.

 

Do eufy smart locks need WiFi?

Local keypad, biometric, and key entry can work without remote connectivity, but app control, notifications, and assistant integrations need 2.4GHz WiFi. S330 connects through its included Chime bridge, while the other highlighted models use direct WiFi.

 

Are eufy smart locks suitable for apartment buildings?

A eufy lock can serve an individually authorized apartment door, but it isn’t designed for centralized multi-tenant or property-wide access control. Apartment operators with common entrances, elevators, vehicle gates, and package areas should evaluate a broader platform.

 

Final verdict on eufy smart locks

Eufy is a worthwhile option for households that want a DIY keypad or biometric deadbolt, especially when subscription-free local operation or an integrated camera matters. The lineup offers real choice, but the exact model matters far more than the eufy name on the box.

Focus on the tradeoffs that affect daily use: Apple compatibility, biometric reliability, BHMA grade, bridge requirements, battery maintenance, and possible cloud or storage costs. The C30 can be enough for simple keypad access, while the S3 Max serves a very different buyer who wants palm-vein entry, video, a rear display, and Matter lock control.

For one home entrance, compare eufy with Schlage, Yale, Level, Wyze, and Kwikset based on your preferred ecosystem and access method. For coordinated access across a multifamily, commercial, gated, or student-housing property, consider ButterflyMX and request a demo to explore a broader property access and security platform.

ButterflyMX deliveries

Get your free quote!

Fill in the form below, and we'll email you right back.

Want a free quote?

Fill in the form below, and we'll email you right back.

You’ll be redirected shortly...

Content Manager
Bryson started at ButterflyMX in 2022 as a Content Writer before later transitioning into the role of Content Manager. With a bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Indianapolis and more than five years of experience in content marketing, Bryson loves creating content that resonates with audiences and provides them value.

Before joining ButterflyMX, Bryson worked with marketing agencies, creating and executing content strategies for small service-based businesses, such as plumbers, locksmiths, landscapers, and general contractors. Additionally, Bryson has freelanced for numerous pop-culture and video game websites, most notably Game Rant and App Trigger.

Bryson resides in Fishers, Indiana, with his partner Nathan and two pets, Jarvis and Pickles. In his free time, Bryson enjoys reading, video games, thrifting, and chipping away at his long movie watch list.

Follow Bryson on LinkedIn